Foundation of the University of Kaiserslautern and its department of Mechanical Engineering, in which Technical Thermodynamics is one of the key areas.


Prof. Dr.-Ing. E. Bender becomes first director of the Laboratory of Engineering Thermodynamics (LTD). His research focuses on fluid properties, especially on developing accurate equations of state. Prof. Bender leads LTD until he passed away much too early at the age of 44 in 1982.


Prof. Dr.-Ing. G. Maurer takes over the Laboratory of Thermodynamics His research focuses on determining thermodynamic properties of complex mixtures. In this area the LTD gains an excellent reputation nationally as well as internationally. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Maurer leads the Laboratory until his retirement in 2008.


The university underlines its commitment to research and education in process engineering by changing the name of the Department of Mechanical Engineering into "Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering".


To emphasize its focus on engineering sciences, the University renamed in "Technical University of Kaiserslautern".


Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Hasse becomes successor of Prof. Maurer as director of LTD. The research areas of LTD are extended to the following: thermodynamic properties of complex fluids, process thermodynamics, molecular thermodynamics and biothermodynamics.


Junior Professor Dr.-Ing. Martin Horsch is appointed. He leads the work area Computational Molecular Engineering.


Junior Professor Dr.-Ing. Jakob Burger is appointed. He leads the work area Process Development and Raw Material Change.


Junior Professor Dr.-Ing. Erik von Harbou is appointed. He leads the work area Chemical System Technology.


Junior Professor Dr.-Ing. Kai Langenbach is appointed. He leads the work area Interfacial Thermodynamics.


Junior Professor Dr.-Ing. Maximilian Kohns is appointed. He leads the work areas Electrolyte Thermodynamics and Molecular Simulation.


Last Change: August 30th 2018